My YCN Student Award Entry Visual Journey For UGG Australia – PART ONE

I entered the 2012/2013 YCN Student Award competition with an entry for the UGG Australia brief. The brief was to give permission for men to buy UGG boots. This blog post is PART ONE (view part two here!) and is going to be a visual journey of some of my work I produced for this project. This blog post will cover 2 stages – my research and development. I will caption my photos to help you understand more of the project at hand. I hope you enjoy looking and reading my work – lets go!

Stage 1: Reseach

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

I started my project by looking at past UGG ads for men

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

More examples of post UGG ads targeted for men

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

I then looked at current ads for men. I noticed that the ads targeted for women looked visually appealing and more striking when compared to the mens shoot

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

I realised that I wanted to include a repeated pattern within my design and looked for inspiration

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

I started to stereotype the average man with objects of interest that could be used in my repeated pattern designs

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

More stereotypical objects relating to most men

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

I selected the 3 UGG shoe ranges I wanted to work with and the repeat pattern objects that would accompany them

Stage 2: Development

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

I started to sketch some of the objects that I wanted to apply to the project

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

More rough sketches

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

From my sketches I created vectors for the Boot UGG range

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

From my sketches I created vectors for the Casual UGG range

Adam Nelson / YCN Student Award Entry 2013 / UGG Australia

From my sketches I created vectors for the At Home UGG range

Continue onto PART TWO of ‘My YCN Student Award Entry Visual Journey For UGG Australia’ to see more development and my final work by clicking here!

Thanks for reading :)

1 comment

What Do You Think?

