A4 Perfect: Research and Development Visual Walk Through

I was given a university project to create an A4 sized booklet that I could refer back to when designing future editorial work. I had to research typography basics to refresh my knowledge and show my understanding. Some of these included; caps, lowercase, x-height, points, picas, type styles, readability, legibility, justification and optical alignment to name a few!

The next stage of this project was to show development for each design document we had to produce. The brief listed what had to be on each page document which was easy to follow. Like some of my past posts I will show my research and development and caption what each image is about. Hope you enjoy this post!

Stage 1: Typography Research

A4 Perfect Project: Typography Research Sheets

Typography research sheets which explain what each typographical element is and a visual example.

A4 Perfect Project: Typography Research Sheets

Typography research sheets which explain what each typographical element is and a visual example.

A4 Perfect Project: Typography Research Sheets

Typography research sheets which explain what each typographical element is and a visual example.

Stage 2: Document Design Development

A4 Perfect Project: Development Sheets

Exploring different grid systems to use for my page design pieces. I chose to use a modular grid system of 6 columns by 8 rows to allow more freedom within my design.

A4 Perfect Project: Development Sheets

Exploring possible positions to place a header at it’s most legible form.

A4 Perfect Project: Development Sheets

Exploring possible positions to make the header visually interesting.

A4 Perfect Project: Development Sheets

Exploring possible positions where the headers legibility is destroyed in an area of the grid system.

A4 Perfect Project: Development Sheets

Exploring different compositions of making a balance between two headers at different point sizes.

A4 Perfect Project: Development Sheets

This development was to create a literal meaning of my header across a double page spread.

A4 Perfect Project: Development Sheets

Exploring different positions of a double page spread that uses my creative literal meaning header and copy text. I left justified my copy text and typeset it to get rid of rivers and unnecessary spacing.

A4 Perfect Project: Development Sheets

Final developments of the end result, a double page spread that uses a header, copy text and relating images within my chosen grid system.

To see the final outcome of my editorial and typographical booklet visit my portfolio by clicking here! Thanks for readings!

What Do You Think?

