BMW 2013 Annual Report Research & Development Visual Walk Through

One of the last projects I did for year two semester 2 was to design an annual report for BMW. The project was to re-design a section of the annual report by using copy text and data from a previous report of BMW. I had to come up with a visual hook to make my design visually interesting. My concept of my annual report design is based on trying to continue their ‘JOY’ campaign by making my report look fun and visually appealing through typographic quotes, infographic data created with car parts and still in tact with brand colours.

Like my previous visual walk through blog posts, I will share my A3 sheets of research and development for this project.I will also try to explain what each page is about and what I was trying to achieve. Hope you enjoy looking through my work and click here to see my final outcome on my portfolio website.

Stage 1: Research:

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

I first started my project by looking at what an annual report is and does.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

I then looked into creative annual report designs that stood out to me.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

More creative annual report designs.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

I then looked into editorial design, choosing pieces that I thought were good designs.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

More editorial design inspiration.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

I then looked into infographics as I had to produce some into my annual report.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

More examples of infographic.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

A short task to make our own infographic about chocolate bars – this was my attempt at making one with the chocolate data given.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

I then started to look into the company of BMW to provide more information into their company and style.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

I looked at a campaign by BMW which showed the joy of owning one of their cars.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

I found that BMW have a sense of humor as each year they make up April Fool jokes. I liked this about them and made me want to try show their fun side into my report more.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

I wanted to show what the main aspects I wanted to show in my annual report such as typographic quotes, high quality visuals and also for my report to be spiral bound.

Stage 2: Development

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

Inforgraphic ideas including the use of colour and car parts in showing facts and figures.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

A visual hook idea of using a range of bright colours to emphasise fun into the BMW company report.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

Showing different page sizes that I could design my annual report onto. I decided to use a page size of 210mm x 250m.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

Development of a typographic quote page showing my grid system and how I typeset my type to look professional.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

Another page design showing the justification settings to typeset the copy text in the report.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

Page layout development of my contents page design. Incorporating my ‘fun bright colour’ visual hook idea and then later redefined with visual imagery and rotated headers.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

A development page showing the process of how I managed copy text from the chairman’s statement through different arrangements.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

A development page of my first infographic design of u sing wheels to show data. I started with my bright visual hook and then later re-defined it to look much clean and let the rotated header show the informal side to BMW.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

Another development of a page that uses a table to show key facts and figures. Through minor changes to the table cell designs the page looks more attractive to the eye.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

A page showing development of a PhotoShop job creating and combining an image out of several images. The shows another fun side to BMW by them joking about making tyre doughnut marks in your new BMW car.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

Another PhotoShop job where the message behind this is that your children will want play with your impressive BMW car with how they know best, paint!

.

BMW 2013 Annual Report - Research & Development Pages - Student Project by Adam Nelson

The last PhotoShop image which pokes fun at bringing a towel to the beach where you’ll love your BMW that much, you won’t need a towel to sunbathe. These images are used as content breaks within my report to ensure the report is digestible to potential shareholders.

This brings me to the end of showing my research and development for my BMW annual report project. To see my final design click here to go to my portfolio website! Thanks for readings!

What Do You Think?

